• Dates: May 13-29, 2022
  • Locations: Helsinki and Tampere, Finland
  • How to Watch: IIHF YouTube

The 2022 IIHF, Ice Hockey World Championship, takes place in Finland. Sixteen teams, divided into Group A and Group B, begin the tournament. The top-four ranked teams from each group advance to the quarter-finals. The four best teams from the quarterfinals then move onto the semi-finals, and the top two clubs then face off in the IIHF World Championship Finals.

Important Dates:

  • Preliminary Round: May 13-24
  • Quarterfinals: May 26
  • Semifinals: May 28
  • IIHF Championship Final: May 29

The 2022 Group A Teams: Canada, Germany, Switzerland, Slovakia, Denmark, Kazakhstan, Italy and France.

The 2022 Group B Teams: Finland, United States, Czechia, Sweden, Latvia, Norway, Great Britain and Austria.

The 2021 IIHF World Championship was played in Riga, Latvia. Team Canada defeated Finland in the Finals and the United States squad came in third. The win was Canada’s 27th Gold Medal in the Finals and its first since the team won back-to-back in 2015 and 2016.

Before we dig into the 2022 IIHF World Hockey Championship, check out the top betting sites for the NHL, as well as our 2022 Stanley Cup betting guide. 

2022 IIHF World Championship picks


Canada began the 2021 World Championships by losing its first three games. The team quickly sorted things out and turned things around, and won the gold medal by defeating Finland in the finale.

Recognizable names competing on this year’s squad are Mat Barzal, Dylan Cozens, Pierre-Luc Dubois, Drake Batherson and Josh Anderson, Thomas Chabot, Ryan Graves, and goaltenders Chris Driedger and Logan Thompson.

Expect Team Canada to approach the World Championship as a way to redeem themselves after missing out on a medal at the 2022 Winter Olympics.

Claude Julien, who coached the Olympic Team, will serve as the coach for the World Championship as well.


If you’re looking for a team that will have momentum heading into the 2022 IIHF World Championship, look toward Finland. The team finished second to Canada in the 2021 World Championship and then took home the gold medal at the 2022 Olympics. Finland also won the World Championship in 2019 (There was no 2020 tournament). On top of their achievements on the ice, Finland is the host country for this year’s tournament.

A defense first club, the team has Valtteri Filppula returning as well as goaltender Harri Sateri and Marko Anttila and coach Jukka Jalonen.

If Finland can win the World Championship, they will be the first team to win Olympic gold and the World Championship in the same year, and they will do so on home ice.

United States

The United States has not won the World Championship in hockey since 1960. That was also the last year that the U.S. club made it to the finals. Yes, the team has earned Bronze four times since 2013, but that’s a far cry from taking home a gold medal.

The United States will look to end its long drought with a David Quinn-coached club that has Detroit Red Wings starting goalie Alex Nedeljkovic between the pipes. Nedeljkovic played 59 games for the Red Wings this past season and posted a 3.31 GA and a .901 save percentage. That high-level experience should help the 26-year-old.

The US team also has a strong defense anchored by Caleb and Seth Jones of the Chicago Blackhawks.

Goal scoring is a concern for Team USA.

Our pick

I think the US team is a dark horse to win the 2022 World Championship. If one or two offensive players get hot, the team could be a surprise winner. However, they are not the favorites. I’m leaning toward the home team to make history in 2022.

Pick: Finland to win 2022 IIHF World Championship.

See below the top sportsbooks where you can wager online and choose the best one for you:

Source link