• What: 2023 Cazoo Snooker Masters
  • When: January 8. 2023 through January 15, 2023
  • Where: Alexandra Palace, London, England

The 2023 Masters is the second of three Snooker Triple Crown Events for the 2022-2023 snooker season. The Masters follows the 2022 UK Championship, which takes place between November 8 and November 20, 2022 at the York Barbican, in York, England. Following the Masters, which takes place between January 8 and January 15, 2023 at Alexandra Palace, London, England, the third Snooker Triple Crown Event is the 2023 World Snooker Championship, which is scheduled for April 15-May 1, 2023 at the Crucible Theatre, Sheffield, England.

Neil Robertson won the 2022 edition of the Masters with a 10-4 victory over Barry Hawkins in the final. The win was the second Masters triumph for the Australian. Hawkins first claimed victory at The Masters in 2012. With his second Masters win, the 40-year-old became the 10th multiple-time winner. Ronnie O’Sullivan is the all-time leader in Masters triumphs with 7. Stephen Hendry follows him with six wins. In 2023, Robertson looks to join Mark Selby, Cliff Thorburn, Steve Davis and Paul Hunter as a three-time winner.

Before we look at the picks, odds and predictions for the 2023 Snooker Masters, check out our picks for the 2023 World Snooker Championship and the best sports betting apps and mobile options for betting on Snooker and other sports.

2023 Snooker Masters picks

Judd Trump

Judd Trump has one Masters win on his record. The 32-year-old English player took home the title in 2019 with a win over Ronnie O’Sullivan. The win marked Trump’s first trip to the Masters’ Finals. He has not been back since. Barry Hawkins eliminated Trump last year, beating him 6-5 in the semifinals.

Trump is perennially among the top-ranked players in the game. Also, despite his age, Trump is among the top-10 all-time prize money winners in snooker with over £6 million in career winnings.

Trump is coming off an 18-13 loss to O’Sullivan in the 2022 World Snooker Championship Finals.

Neil Robertson

Neil Robertson, the defending Snooker Masters champion is one of the favorites to win the 2023 edition of the tournament.

Recognized as the greatest Australian snooker player of all-time, the 40-year-old Neil Robertson has one World Championship to go with his two Masters’ titles. Robertson won the World Championship in 2010. That win marks Robertson’s only appearance in the world championship finals.

Robertson is the only player from outside of the United Kingdom to have completed snooker’s Triple Crown.

Robertson had a great 2021-22 season. In addition to winning The Masters, he claimed victory in the English Open, the Players Championship and the Tour Championship, while finishing as the runner-up in the World Grand Prix.

Ronnie O’Sullivan

Of course, Ronnie O’Sullivan is near the top of the list of picks to win the 2023 Snooker Masters. O’Sullivan, who is coming off a win over Trump in the World Snooker Championship Finals, has a record seven wins at The Masters. However, the 46-year-old has not claimed a Masters win since he won back-to-back in 2016 and 2017. O’Sullivan managed a runner-up finish in 2019 to Trump, but Robertson eliminated him in the quarterfinals last year.

O’Sullivan will be looking for a big year in 2022-23 after winning his seventh World Snooker Championship.

Our Pick

O’Sullivan had a good year in 2021-22. It was the first year since 2018-19 where he won more than one ranking tournament. In addition to his win at the World Championship over Trump, O’Sullivan claimed his second World Grand Prix title with a victory over Robertson.

It’s always hard to pick against O’Sullivan.

Pick: Ronnie O’Sullivan to win the 2023 Snooker Masters.

See below the top sportsbooks where you can wager online and choose the best one for you:

Source link