• What: 2023 World Snooker Championship
  • When: April 15 – May 1, 2023
  • Where: Crucible Theatre, Sheffield, England

With the 2022 World Snooker Championship recently completed, it’s time to look ahead to the 2023 World Snooker Championship, which will take place between April 15 and May 1, 2023. The location of the championship will be the Crucible Theatre in Sheffield, England.

The 2022 World Snooker Championship ended with Ronnie O’Sullivan defeating Judd Trump 18-13. The 46-year-old O’Sullivan claimed his seventh World Championship with the win (2001, 2004, 2008, 2012, 2013, 2020, 2022). Trump fell short of winning his second World Championship. His previous victory came in 2019. 2021 World Champion Mark Selby was eliminated in the second-round by Yan Bingato.

Before we look at the 2023 World Snooker Championship futures picks, check out our sportsbooks guide to get started on making the best snooker bets and while you’re at it, take a look at the best sports betting apps and mobile options. 

2023 World Snooker Championship Picks

Ronnie O’Sullivan

Fresh off his seventh world championship win, Ronnie O’Sullivan is the early favorite to repeat as the 2023 world snooker champion. If O’Sullivan is successful in doing so, he will be the first repeat champion since Mark Selby went back-to-back in 2016 and 2017.

With his win in 2022, O’Sullivan joined Stephen Hendry as the winningest world champion with seven since 1969 when the world championship switched format to a knock-out tournament. Joe Davis holds the overall record with 15 straight titles between 1927 and 1946.

A win in 2023 will put O’Sullivan atop the modern list of world champions with eight.

Judd Trump

Judd Trump won his first world snooker title in 2019 on his second trip to the finals. In 2011, Trump fell to John Higgins. Trump was eliminated in the quarter-finals in 2020 and 2021. He made it to the finals in 2022, but fell short against his childhood idol, Ronnie O’Sullivan.

The 32-year-old Trump might not have multiple world championships to his name, but he is perennially among the top-ranked players in the game. Also, despite his age, Trump is among the top-10 all-time prize money winners in snooker with over £6 million in career winnings.

Neil Robertson

Recognized as the greatest Australian snooker player of all-time, the 40-year-old Neil Robertson has one world championship to his name and that came in 2010. That win marks Robertson’s only appearance in the world championship finals. Robertson was eliminated in the second-round in 2022.

Robertson is the only player from outside of the United Kingdom to have completed snooker’s Triple Crown.

Mark Selby

The 32-year-old Mark Selby is always a threat to win the world championship. With four titles to his name (2014, 2016, 2017 and 2021), Selby also has one runner-up finish on his record and that came in 2007 when he lost to John Higgins.

Selby also has nine Triple Crown titles to his name.

Our pick

It’s always hard to pick against Ronnie O’Sullivan and with that in mind, we are not going to do that.

Pick: Ronnie O’Sullivan to win 2023 World Snooker Championship.

See below the top sportsbooks where you can wager online and choose the best one for you:

Source link